Phone Book Fail

Not an actually phone book, but the electronic one in my mobile phone.
This is another story where I am going to make fun of myself. A while back when Big Steel Toe and I worked for the same company, we were leaving a job site. We worked all day in a structure where mobile phone signals go to die. So I employed a normal tactic. I shut it off to conserve the battery. As we left the job I turned my phone on and I received a couple of voice mails. The last one was recent. Good, it’s been a long day, I could use a beer or two. This is when it all went wrong. I proceeded to call Jamie back, this was the conversation that took place.

*phone rings*
Jamie: Hello.
Me: Hey, what’s up?
J: Nothing.
M: I just got your message. I’ve been working all day in a place with no signal.
J: I didn’t call you today.
M: Oh. (Now confused) I know what I did. I called the wrong Jamie.

This is where BST looked at me like I had three heads. Not that I blame him. He proceeded to laugh quietly. I just looked at him and shrugged my shoulders. Yeah I messed up. So what. I mess up all the time. Usually there isn’t a witness. But I figured I might as well make the best of this, or make it worse. I decided to make it
worse…

M: I’m sorry. I didn’t realize how many Jamie’s where in my phone book. I’ll talk to you later.
J: OK, bye.
M: Bye.

Now I’m laughing. But BST is cracking up. He couldn’t figure out why I told her that I call the wrong girl. Because I failed. That’s why. I then looked through my phone book and found that I had four entries for the name Jamie, and could only identify two of them. So I called the other one. Bingo. If at first you don’t succeed…well you know the rest.

I’m so glad my friends remind me of this stuff, because when they screw up I sure as hell don’t let them forget about it. I’m gonna go through my phone book right now and make some notes. I saw a couple of names in there the other day, and I’m not even sure if I know these people.
Strow

0 Responses to “Phone Book Fail”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

INSULTants

When you need to offend more people in less time.

Random Number Generator

  • 61,089 people should be working instead of screwin' around on the internet.

What every one else has been reading

This is how we tweet.

On this day in history, something occurred…somewhere.

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Back in the Day


